Museum Closed to the Public through April 30

The Maine State Museum will be closed to the public at least through April 30 in an effort to curtail the spread of the coronavirus. Announcements about museum open hours after April 30 will be made as soon as possible. For additional information or questions, please...

Museum Cancels Plans for Special Sunday Opening on March 15, 2020

Update as of 5:00 p.m. on Saturday, March 14.  Due to increasing concerns about the safety of visitors and staff, the museum has cancelled the special free museum opening for Maine Statehood Day on Sunday, March 15. The museum is examining options for open hours...

Coming Soon – the Great Black Hawk

The Great Black Hawk, arguably one of the most celebrated, watched, and mourned birds ever in Maine, is about to find its final home at the Maine State Museum. Both avid and armchair birders from near and far followed the story of the Great Black Hawk, a native of...

February School Vacation Special Events at the Museum

Museum educators will bring fun and lots of opportunities to explore the world of science during February school vacation from Tuesday, February 18 to Thursday, February 21. All programs are free with the price of museum admission!

“Her Flag” Project Comes to Museum in Free Event

In one of the more creative and unusual events commemorating the 100th anniversary of women’s right to vote, Oklahoma-based artist Marilyn Artus visits the Maine State Museum on Saturday, January 11 at 1:00 p.m. as part of her nationwide “Her Flag” project. The event...

Museum and Museum Store Hours during the Holidays

The museum will close at noon on Tuesday, December 24 and remain closed on Christmas Day (Wednesday, December 25) and Thursday, December 26. The museum will re-open on Friday, December 27 from 9 to 5 and be open on Saturday, December 28 from 9 to 5. The Museum Store...

Maine Woodcarvers and Their Work Star in Free Event at Museum

Saturday, December 14 brings the world of woodcarving to the Maine State Museum as members of the Maine Wood Carvers Association gather to show and share their skills and artistry. Visitors of all ages will see carvers demonstrate whittling, carving “in the...

Museum Hours during the Thanksgiving Holiday

The museum will be closed from noon on Wednesday, November 27 through Friday, November 29. The museum will re-open from 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. on Saturday, November 30. The museum will be closed on Sunday, December 1.
Maine State Museum